Got My Grumpy Hat On!

Jeg burde vel egentlig bare overse dette, men jeg blir litt irritert når jeg ser helheten i dette. Som en del av dere er klar over, arbeider jeg med en oppgradering og gjennomgang av alle registrerte ‘følgere’ på bloggen min. Årsaken til dette er at jeg for det første aldri har kontrollert noe som helst og isteden stolt på at WordPress med sin ‘Akismet’ ville fikse det som gikk galt, men – etter hvert som jeg graver meg ned i denne materien, så angrer jeg dypt på at jeg ikke gjorde dette for flere år siden!

Actually the easiest way would be to ignore the whole thing, but I’m getting a bit pissed off when I gradually uncover ‘the big picture’. Some of you will have registered that I’ve started the gruelling work of checking all my registered ‘followers’ to my blog.
The reason for this work is that I’ve never checked out anything before. I’ve trusted WP with their ‘Akismet’ to fixt things that ought to be fixed, but digging down into all this shit, I regret deeply that I didn’t start this several years ago!

Når man tenker seg om, så er det sannelig ikke rart at WP’s såkalte ‘happy engineers’ ikke lenger tillates å snakke direkte med oss brukere?  Og dermed rapporteres heller ikke feil og mangler og WP blir kun oppmerksom på feil de selv finner. Også slipper de å forklare slike ting som hvorfor all SPAM stoppet av ‘akismet’ ligger lagret på en vegg merket ‘WP’ isteden for å slettes direkte. Mesteparten av denne type er pussig nok hyperlinker som fører et sted, mens den andre delen av SPAM-mengden (som ikke er hyperlinker) blir ikke
oppført på samme vegg og er stor sett bare plasskrevende kopier av vilkårlige tekster eller de vanlige meldinger fra ordinære spammere.

When you think of it, it’s really not that strange that WP’s ‘happy engineers’ may no longer speakt to us directly? Thus faults are not reported and WP ,ay only address faults they discover themselves. And their staff need not explain why most of the SPAM isolated by akismet appear on a wall clearly marked WP?  Most of this trash is hyperlinks leading somwhere, but the other part of the SPAM are copied texts out of books or magazines or random messages from professional spammers.

Men – primært var det jo listen over følgere jeg ville se på. Og min liste går 5 år bakover i tid! Etter hvert avtegnet det seg et mindre flatterende bilde:
Dere vet selvfølgelig at WP produserer alternative ‘themes’? Noen er gratis, og noen koster penger! Men – når et slikt ‘theme’ er ferdig produsert, så lages det en slags ‘introduksjon’ tilknyttet et navn på en produsent/programmerer etc. og – det navnet havner som en kjær venn og ‘følger’ på våre lister! Så er det selvsagt en haug med datafirmaer som tilbyr seg å fikse både det en og det andre, og selvsagt blir de øyeblikkelig venner og ‘følgere’ enten vi kjøper eller ikke. Den neste gruppen er alle som bedriver ‘coaching’, familie-terapi, moralsk opprustning, religiøse organisasjoner, leger, professorer, arkitekter, spåmenn og en lang rekke andre idioter som alle vil være våre venner og følgere og som gjerne vil se sitt bilde eller avatar på vår ‘family grid’!

Primarily it was my list of followers I wanted to check out, and my list goes at least 5 years back in time! After a short while I could feel a less positive contours forming in my mind:
You are , of course, aware that WP produces alternative themes for us?  Some are free, and others cost money! But when such a them is finished, they will be making kind of an introduction related to the current programmer with a name. And mysteriously this name happens to be a friend of yours and – a ‘follower’ on your list!
In addition there will be dozens of IT businesses that will want to help you getting more traffic or enhance your theme to be even better! And , of course, they will instantly be your friend and follower regardless of whether you use their services or not. The next group on the scene may be all the businesses working the coaching business, family therapy (in case you’d need one), moral enhancment, religious organizations, doctors, professors, architects, fortunetellers and a mile long string of other idiots which all wants to be our friends and followers, and which would appreciate his picture (or avatar) visible on my ‘family grid’.

Jeg kan trygt love dere at det er mulig å slette 90% av deres eksisterende liste over ‘følgere’ uten at det i særlig grad vil influere på trafikkvolum! Men dere vil bli langt bedre kjent med dem som er igjen og som dessuten vil respondere når dere legger ut et nytt innlegg!
Men dere må ta jobben med å gå igjenom listen og jo flinkere dere er, jo bedre resultat!

I can safely promise you that you’d most likely be able to delete as much as 90% of your list without this affecting your traffic volumes. But you’ll get to know the remaining friends much better, – friends that will respond just about every time you publish something!
But you need to go through your listings! And the better work you do, the better result you’ll have!

 

 

About Seenorway

'See Norway' vil i fremtid befatte seg med å vise bildereportasjer fra byer, kommuner og tettsteder rundt i Norge. 'See Norway' will take pride in showing you picture reports from communities and settlements throughout Norway. Contact: post@roby.no
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Got My Grumpy Hat On!

  1. Paola says:

    I agree. What’s matter are the ones I follow, For instance, I’m very happy to see your pictures, I never went to Norway, but I’d really like to. Bye 🙂

  2. I’m with you, I’d rather have honest, meaningful contact than # of followers, etc.

    • Seenorway says:

      As of now I have reduced my old list of followers by 60% and at the same time my traffic volume has doubled! So much for that list! ‘By the end of the day’ I think I’ll be able to cut that list to 10% of what it used to be – and without loosing traffic!
      That ought to tell you something?!

  3. You could not have spoken more wonderful truth then you did here. We want people that don’t use us but want a relationship because they enjoy the product we produce. Some are in it for the “likes” only. We want comments and dialogue. Sure likes are great and you don’t have to comment on everything but take a minute and enjoy the works of another and let them know how you feel. After looking at your sunsets and going through the articles we were in awe of the effort you put in. You’ll be seeing us regularly if this is okay?

    • Seenorway says:

      I was on my way with a lengthy answer here, but sometehing happened. (All gone) So I’ll start anew: You’re the first one ever to ask if it’s OK? 🙂 But you seem to understand the way this is going? And you’re very welcome to register as a ‘follower’ if that’s what you want! Pleased that you liked my sunsets. There must be several hundreds of pictures from sunsets published by now, but since there are never two just alike, I find it challenging to get the best scenes in each and present it as best I can.
      I’ll give you another tip: In the lower right hand corner of all the pictures published there is a 3-letter unique ID-code related to that particular photographer.
      You could try this out by inserting ‘MXS’ into that little window and hit the ‘Enter’ button.
      I don’t think you’d regret it! 🙂

      • Yes we have hit the follow button so will get notified every time you post. So true about no two looking alike and that is the awesome part of it all. Each one is a special edition version. Thanks for the insight into the code.

        • Seenorway says:

          That little window of mine may be used in different ways:
          If you insert ‘Oslo’, you will be presented with all the photo reports related to the city of Oslo! Among my ‘Geographic Zones’ you’ll also find a link called ‘INDEX’. If you open this link, everything will be listed alphabetically under their respective counties. Here you may see how many pictures included in each post and which photographer that once did the job. (Not always me), but before you try this, it’s a good idea to google *Norwegian counties’ in order to find their geographic locations. That way you know where to look!

          • Thank you for helping us to navigate the site. We like the way you index. We are trying to figure out a good way to do ours.

            • Seenorway says:

              I needed an index! Reason: If you were wondering if I had ever made a photo report from the city of Bergen, what would you do (without the index)? You’d have to open a random month in my archives, but you’d have no way of knowing WHEN I visited Bergen. Which means you’d have to open something like 66 different months and inspect more than 1200 posts.
              Via INDEX you go straight to the county of Hordaland and look under the letter ‘B’ and you’ll find the report in seconds.
              Strangely enough: Very few people use INDEX! And for my lifes worth, I don’t understand why not?

            • This is SO Great the way you have described this!!!!. Thank you. What you are saying makes so much sense. Books have index’s, library’s have index’s, our blogs need index’s. Awesome.

            • Seenorway says:

              The reason why you usually don’t find an index is that when people establish a blog they are very often greenhorns at blogging.
              After 2-3 years it slowly dawns on some of them that the ordinary archives won’t do. But now it’s gruelling work going through it all, and in most cases it won’t ever be done! I used to put in hyperlinks to wikipedia in my texts. Timeconsuming to find both in Norwegian and English, but – after a while I could document that people didn’t bother to use them. So why should I bother? But they will still be there if you read anything from 2012 – 2015, I think.

            • You are right. We are those greenhorns and now after coming from never blogged in our lives 11 months ago to now we are starting to understand. Isn’t it something to know your post will always be on the world wide web for people to stumble upon and see the world through your eyes. We are looking forward to going back in time with your travels.

            • Seenorway says:

              Rocking chairs? 🙂 Are you older than me then? He he, and you’ve started reading blogs? Then there’s hope!
              I have always been writing ‘readers letter’ to several newspapers I think since the late 50’s, but at that time no one new what ‘internet’ was, let along a ‘blog’!
              But I got an invitation from one such newspaper in 2005 about the same time when the first digital cameras were introduced, and since then I’ve been blogging.
              Over the years my accumulated reader must be well above 3,5 – 4 millions and – it ha become a way of life. But I’ll never open an account on Twitter.
              Too many hairbrains! 🙂
              The days when you had to buy films, shoot pictures and wait a week ore two to see the result I remembner only too well. Bought my first own camera early in the 50’s
              only 15 years old. Since then I’ve been taking pictures of anything that would stand still for a second, but in later years nobody is fast enough to avoid my 1/8000 sec exposures! 🙂

            • You are a hoot. We love you and your sense of humor. We don’t have a twitter of facebook account either. Oh well don’t miss one either. We too can relate to the letters to the editor at a time when they probably read em. As to followers we have along way to go to reach that many but we do know the ones that are following us and we them are very dear to our hearts. Isn’t it great to have 1/8000 speed so they can’t escape, lol. Keep that precious sense of humor we love it.

            • Seenorway says:

              If you want to smile at my age, you’d better retain your humor!
              We’re ,having an election next month over here, and there’s no limit to what a glorious future we shall all have provided we vote!
              I’ve heard all this songs and promise a dozen times before. After the lection nothing much happens except politician patting themselves on the back before going off on an extra vacation on our expence. Personally I’ve elected to stay at home looking at some silly TV program. At least I’ll have something to remember!

            • Isn’t it the truth though about hearing the same campaign promises over and over. When I was young I would be impressed with how the politicians were going to save the world only to see through time their words were empty. All they can talk about is how wonderful they are and how bad everyone of the others is. LOL sitting and watching some of the news stations is like situation comedies. All they need to due is dub in the canned laughter.

            • Seenorway says:

              Right! But then it would sound like comedy? Which would be veeery fitting!?

            • Isn’t it a comedy… a comedy of errors.

            • Seenorway says:

              Being a ‘hoot’ as you say, you probably wouldn’t be surprised abou me publishing a little ‘picture story’
              like this one? https://seenorway.wordpress.com/2017/07/19/rough-n-tumble/

            • Great link. Love the way you told this story through the bees. Nice! Now don’t tell us but is the sequel going to be “The Birds and the Bee’s”, lol.

            • Seenorway says:

              Love beeing one! 🙂 What else is there to do when you’ve passed 80?

            • Just what you are doing… continuing to grow and learn. Look at the mere fact you are maintaining a blog site and interacting with people and sharing stories and teaching us about “indexing”.

            • Seenorway says:

              And keeping my English alive!

            • LOL. That’s incredible also that you are bi-lingual. You have quite the story Svein.

            • Seenorway says:

              To drift and to market a professional blog of international status today is ‘hard work’!
              The paper that invited me (and others) to establish a blog registered more than 30 000 profiles. Within a year there were approximately 1200 of the original 30 000 still tending their blogs!

            • It has got to be a good feeling knowing you are part of the bedrock. Yes creating and establishing a professional blog is hard work. I know when we started we though, oh you just post thoughts but those thoughts can get far and in between as time goes on and you wonder what to say next. We hope to never get to the point of posting just to post because that would insult the many wonderful bloggers out there that are producing such admirable quality. We realized early on that we aren’t in this to gather likes but rather to build relationships with folks like you and learn from them.

            • Seenorway says:

              Well, I don’t know. Honestly I don’t think so much about it, but I’ve notice that very few are picking on me. ANd if ssomeone does, I don’t have to go into that unless I want to. Others do! 🙂 And I can’t be bothered. That, I guess, comes with old age?!”

            • I think its called wisdom and you have a great deal of that. Most of us don’t grow old without acquiring some. Notice how I said most, lol.

            • Seenorway says:

              I must go religious on you now, Tom:
              Look and you shall find! And if you don’t look, you’ll be stumbling around in the darkness (or in the blog world! 🙂 )

            • Its okay to go religious on us because His word is so true as to seeking and finding, lol. We intend to apply His principals to your site to find the nuggets.

            • Seenorway says:

              You’ll have to go it alone, ,I’m afraid. ‘HE’ has been rejected for decades. Besides he’s got hes own heaven to keep!
              I’m building my own! 🙂

            • Its hard for us not to see Him in your incredible words and photographs. You are doing a great job of recording wonderful creations.

            • Seenorway says:

              Well. somehow I don’t think he’s got much to do with an evolution that has taken millions of years.
              If he’s got all the powerss people believe him to have, why not get on with it? Why millions of years?
              As the geographic plates are moving around on the Earth’s surface for billions of years? Why doesn’ he get it straight from day 1?
              I could ask you a million questions like that. Like why 350 000 people – mainly women and children should have to die in an tsunami?
              Most of them had done nothing wrong and their only sin was having been bord in a country boardering the Indian Ocean?
              Allmighty and just? I don’t think so! And if He had something to do with this, it’s a God totally useless to me! You see – thousands of questions that need an answer that nobody can give. At least believable with what we know in 2017.
              But – let us – just for the experiment – turn the tables? What if there is no God? And that there never was one?
              Then things are left to chance. It’s all about being in the wrong place at the wrong time. And a lot of questions suddenly get their logic answers.
              Now – on the other hand there is a God, fair, just and all mighty? Then he’ll have a lot to answer for. Wars, plagues, disasters, terrorism, human deaths by the millions when it all could/should have been prevented, That’s what a just and fair God would/should have done – right?
              So after 80 year on this planet: If there is a fair and just, allmighty God up there somewhere (and we haven’t seen traces of him even through the Keppler observatorium – Do you really think our world would look the way it does today? I don’t!
              The consequence being that there is no heaven, there is no hell waiting for us. It’s everone for him/herself, trust in yourself, nobody will pick you up if you decide to sleep the night on a motorway unless you have a good friend near by! And the word ‘end’ means just that! Terminal! Every living organism on Mother Earth
              will die at some point, The only exeption are micro organisms that eventually will start the cyclus anew! 🙂
              And a final question: You’ve surely seen skydivers within extreme sportss. We have them in Norway as well. Jumping out from a peak at 5000 feet streaming through the air at 200 mph towards the valley floor . . .
              Would you put your trust in the Lord and take such a jump? Don’t worry about educatipon or training. Your Lord wil see you safe to the ground. Or will he . . .?

  4. -Eugenia says:

    Worthwhile rant, my friend. I think spamming and fake profiling must be a full-time job for some. Too many of them coming out the woodwork. It’s time to seal it up. Grumpiness is a good thing if you have a valid reason, which you do.

    • Seenorway says:

      Thank you! And there must be many many more than me getting fed up with this business? If we ignore it, it will go unattended by WP and others and in time it will probably grow out of all proportions? Or we could try to do something together?
      These days I’m throwing out anything that is not a valid ‘follower’! And they will try again!
      I had a business in Vietnam that tried 7-8 times with different adresses/nicks but everytime marketing the same page. But I keep tabs on those too and it’s easy to detect and destroy!
      In the other end I’m making a ground check on all newcomers and if they can’t be said to be intrerested in travels nor photography, they won’t last 10 minutes with me.
      If in doubt I marke them ‘pending’ and check back in a couple of months. If they haven’t showed at least 3 times in two months, ther gone!
      I’ll do nicely with 50-100 followers as long as they are real followers! As simple as that!
      But – if many of us do something like that, it’s gonna be hard to obtain followers in sufficient numbers and – that’s a situation WP will have to address.

      • -Eugenia says:

        Well, especially with your blog because it offers so much more that what would defined a blog. Yours is an account of extraordinary images, and scenes – and history, as well. I feel your work should be showcased where there is more reach.

  5. Mormor says:

    Vi får bare følge opp 🙂
    Klem ❤

    • Seenorway says:

      Det må bli opp til den enkelte hvordan de vil skjøtte bloggen sin, men foreløpig har jeg altså redusert listen over følgere med ca 60% mens mitt trafikkvolum hart økt med omtrent det samme: 61,4 %! Jeg lager meg også een egen liste over de jeg har kastet ut, så slipper jeg å undersøke hver gang de dukker opp igjen. Hvis alle hadde slike lister så ville spammere i fremtiden får en veldig begrenset ‘oppholdstillatelse’! 🙂

  6. Seenorway says:

    And how! 🙂 But I’ve been holding my breath for some time! Now it’s out of the bag!

  7. I hear you Svein.. and I have long since understood that while I may appear to have over one thousand who follow.. about one hundred of them click like and about 40 comment with about 20 of those being regular commentators .. As for spam,, yes lots of the same.. :-D..

    But we who visit and love your photos. are grateful for your presence my friend.. I hope your Grumpy head soon gets exchanged to a smiley one..
    Sue 🙂

  8. Grumpy is a way of life to be embraced with enthusiasm 🙂

Leave a Reply

