The Color of White – II

Som dere ser er dette avd. II av denne lille sekvensen, men bildene er denne gang fra Vestlandet og tatt av min gode venn og kollega. Ved første blikk kan bildene se temmelig like ut, men ser dere nærmere etter så er det en markant forskjell på dem.
_dsc5313bAs you may see, this is no II of this little sequence, but this time the pictures come from the Western Norway and has been taken by my friend and colllague ‘over there’.
By first look they may seem pretty much alike, but study them closer and you’ll find them different from each other!
_dsc5315b_dsc5317b(Compliments of PMR)
Please return me to INDEX for a new destination

About Seenorway

'See Norway' vil i fremtid befatte seg med å vise bildereportasjer fra byer, kommuner og tettsteder rundt i Norge. 'See Norway' will take pride in showing you picture reports from communities and settlements throughout Norway. Contact: post@roby.no
This entry was posted in HORDALAND, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Color of White – II

  1. joliesattic says:

    I saw these pictures on a reblog. Love them.

  2. Seenorway says:

    He sent it to me directly as well! 🙂

  3. Se Norge’s blomsterdal

    • Seenorway says:

      We know that tune, yes, but we usually associate it with summer! 🙂

      • John Vaughan says:

        Takk for det, SeNorge. Jeg boddte i Oslo da jeg var gutt. Lenge, lenge siden. (http://www.jcvtcs.com/index-section-jvaughan.html#education)

        I went to Norwegian schools, so – of course – we had “Sang” (I still have my copy of “Metodisk Sangbok”). I remember many of those tunes (They’re how I learned Norwegian) – and sing them … badly. I posted the link to “Se Norge’s Blomsterdal”, inspired by the title of your fine picSite … and with my tongue firmly in my cheek.

        Around Syttende Mai perhaps I’ll post links to “Kom Mai, Du Skjoenne Milde” or “Alle fugler, Smaa De Er”. Naa kommer BarneTime

        Enjoying the pictures and text. Both are beautiful. Thank you

        • Seenorway says:

          Hi John, –
          And thanks for your response! So you haved a Norwegian heritage? Then you are one of the reasons why this blog was once established!
          I have read that approximaetly 5 million Americans today have a Norwegian heritage and I concluded that many of those might be interested
          to see the place from which their grandpa/ma once lived? But it seems I’m a bit too late. Thee many grandchildren seem to have been too ‘Americanized’ by now and some haven’t even heard about Norway, it seems?
          I wish I could suggest that you might use my blog to brush up on your Norwegian 🙂 , but unfortunately I can’t say it’s a ‘direct translation’ – only the meaning of what I write. But you might find some words useful?
          I would , however, suggest that you started to use my ‘Index’? If you know something about the location of the different Norwegian counties, it will be a lot easier on you to find things/destinations of interest. You’ll find a link to INDEX in our ‘geographic registry’ or at the end of any post you may care to open! Please enjoy!

          • John Vaughan says:

            I am Norwegian only by acclimation – my father was at the US embassy for 2 years and – unlike many of the Americans there at that time – we lived “on the economy”: My sister and I went to Norwegian school during those formative years (I was 9 & 10).

            Which means that I speak like a 10-year-old, but can understand and enjoy much of what’s written here. I used to be able to impress my New York City friends by translating “what they’re really saying” in Bergman films. The same for your blog. The original Norsk communicates much better. And of course, I also hear the ‘musikk’ of it in my head. My sister and I exchange Norsk films by mail and then discuss them by telephone. “Elling” remains a favorite.

            Yes, I still remember the names of some of the “fylke”s from Fru Solness’s Geografi class at Russeloekka Folkeskole. “Adjoe, og takk for idag.” I look forward to exploring your Index.

            Hjertelig hilsen fra
            — John

  4. -Eugenia says:

    Yes, I see the difference. I love the clarity and contrasts in these photos. Reblogging.

  5. I see the difference as they come near and far in distance.. 🙂 Thank you for sharing my friend

Leave a Reply

