Colors of Fall

Dette handler egentlig om en liten utflukt for å fange høstens farger før de forsvinner for godt, men –
This is actually about a small expedition in order to catch the colors of fall before they disappear for good, but
Pictures 2014bJeg skal starte med de gode nyhetene. Eller i alle fall tror jeg det er gode nyheter. For i prosessen med å bekjempe min kreftdiagnose så slo jo smertene inn som et biprodukt av medisinering – ikke helt uventet!  Så var det bare å finne frem smertestillende medisiner i tillegg til alt annet. Etter en tid kom neste overraskelse: Angina-smerter!
Etter hvert kunne jeg ikke gå 100 meter uten at ting stoppet opp og livet begynte å bli vanskelig. Men hva skjedde egentlig?  Jeg hadde jo aldri noen gang gjennom livet følt det minste  tilløp til ‘angina’?  Så hvorfor nå?

I’ll start with the good news. Or at least what I believe to be ‘good news’: In the process of batteling my cancer diagnosis, the pains, being a bi-product of the cancer medicines, hit me in full – not entirely unexpected! The next step was to find an adquate pain killer remedy in addition to everything else. After 3 weeks came the next and real surprice: Angina pains! I couldn’t walk more than 300 feet before the pains set in and stopped all movements. Life started to get tough! What was really happening to me? Never through life I had ever experienced anything remotely like ‘angina’.  So why now?
Pictures 2016bOg siden jeg i øyeblikket var ganske tungt medisinert, falt det naturlig å mistenke at angina-smerter kunne være et biprodukt av medisiner, men sikker kunne jeg jo ikke være? Så jeg la om ‘kostholdet’ og skaffet meg noen helt andre smertestillende tabletter.

And sice I was rather heavily influenced by medicines, it seemed logical to suspect that the angina pains could be a bi-product of medicines, but – of course – I couldn’t be a 100% sure of this?! So I changed my ‘diet’ and asked for another type of pain killer.
Pictures 2018bDet gikk ytterligere 2 måneder uten noe endringer. I mellomtiden fikk jeg dokumentert at jeg virkelig hadde angina! Og daglig fikk jeg føling med sykdommen når jeg måtte ta meg frem til ‘stråleavdelingen’ på Radiumhospitalet.

Another 2 months passed without any noticable change. Meanwhile my angina was documented and confirmed by another hospital. And each and every day I was reminded of this diagnosis as I made my way to the radiation lab at ‘Radiumhospitalet’.
Pictures 2020bSå igår følte jeg plutselig litt mindre smerter der jeg gikk. Var det mulig? Eller var det mine smertestillende tabletter som virket inn? Idag har jeg bare tatt èn slik tablett, og på veien inn til stråling gikk jeg fortere enn vanlig. Provoserte kroppen! Men jeg kjente praktisk talt ingen ting!?

Yesterday I suddenly seemed to feel less pain walking my usual route. Was i possible?
Or was I under the influence of painkillers supressing my angina as well? Today I had only taken one such tablet and underway to my radiation treatment I increased my step provocing my body. But I felt practically nothing!?
Pictures 2022bSå da jeg kom hjem, grep jeg kameraet og la ut på en liten ‘høstfarge-safari’, og jeg gikk i motbakker som tidligere har utløst angina til et nivå hvor jeg trengte nitro.  Fortsatt kjente jeg ingen ting! På hjemveien gikk jeg inn i den bratteste bakken med dobbelt skritt-takt. Ingen hvile. Høyt tempo! Ingen angina !!! Ai, ai, ai . . .!

Arriving back home I grabbed my camera and started out on a small tour of the neighbourhood in order to secure the colors of fall before they were all gone. And I chose to walk up-hill in places where I had always felt my angina enough to take nitro-tablets.
And still I felt nothing! On my return I chose the steepest hill increasing my tempo.
No rest. High speed. And still no angina!!!  Ai, ai, ai . . .
Pictures 2027bSkal jeg tolke det slik at bivirkningene fra de første smertestillende tablettene langsomt har gitt seg? Skimter jeg et lys i tunnelen? I tillegg har jeg bare 4 strålebehandlinger igjen før jeg kan begynne å restituere meg for alvor . . .
Kanskje jeg må ta meg en ny tur i morgen . . .?

Should I interpret this as the bieffects of the first painkiller possibly have decreased? Is there a light in the tunnel up ahead? Besides I have only 4 radiation treatments left befor I can relax and start  a serious restitution. May be I should take another trip tomorrow?

Pictures 2029bMens jeg tenkte litt på fremtiden og hva den kunne bringe så hadde jeg kommet frem til kirkegården i Røyken. Et symbolsk skue ventet meg: Et friskt tre med livskraftig grønt løv (dagens generasjon) og over på den andre siden et eldre tre med den gule fargen som forteller at der er slutt – i det minste for i år.

While I was walking along thinking of what the future might bring, I had arrived at the cemetary in Røyken. A symbolic sight was waiting for me: A young tre with green leaves (todays generation) and across the field another tree with the yellow leaves indicating that it’s all over – at least  for this year!
Pictures 2032bLitt lenger borte  hadde naturen laget sin egen symfoni over høsten –
A bit further away the nature had created its own symphony over the fall –
Pictures 2033bMen man behøvde ikke se langt vekk for å finne ‘kunstverk’ og farger som bragte tanken på høst.
But there was no need to look far away for ‘artworks’ which would direct youur thoughts to the fall.
Pictures 2034bRogna pleier alltid å ta et fargerikt farvel med inneværende år – ?
The Rowan always takes a colorfull farewell with the existing year -?

Pictures 2037bDette er det norske lønnetreet. Vanligvis i vakre farger mot høsten, men her forteller de brunsorte flekkene at dødsdommen er mottatt. Slutt for i år. Noen kraftige vindkast er alt som skal til nå –

This is the Norwegian maple tree. Uusual in vivid colors in the fall, but here the black brownish spots on the leaves tells jut that the death sentence has been received. The year is ending! All that’s needed now is a few strong gusts of wind . . .
Pictures 2040bMen noen er litt tøffere enn andre. Rødkløveren nekter å gi seg før den begraves i snø.
But some are more resiliant than others. The red clover refuses to give ikn befor it’s buried in the snow!
Pictures 2045bEn annen tøff skapning er forskjellge variasjoner av lyng.
Other tough carachters are the different variations of heather.
Pictures 2046bDet er løv  på trærne, men når man ser seg om, så er det sannelig løv på bakken også!
There are still leaves on the trees, but looking around, it’s certainly leaves on the ground as well!
Pictures 2050bPraktfulle farger og et verdig farvel!
Magnificent colors and a worthy farewell!
Pictures 2058bOg selv om det har vært frostnetter så gir ikke potentillaen opp riktig ennå!
An even if there has been frosty nights, the potentilla doesn’t give in just yet!
Pictures 2060bOg det er mange vakre hekker i nabolaget nå om dagen –
And there are many beautiful hedges around the neighbourhood these days.
Pictures 2061bKrysanthemum i urne lager et godt blikkfang.
Cryhsanthemum in an urn makes a nice eye catcher.

Pictures 2064bJeg vet ikke hva dette er for en plante, men uvanlig og vakker var den . . .
I don’t know what kind of plant this is, but a bit unusual and pretty it is none the less.

Pictures 2066bDenne vakre planten er en høyst vanlig nypebusk!  Men se hvilken høstdrakt den ikler seg!
This beautiful plant is a regular rosehip bush, but observe what it looks like in the fall!
Pictures 2067bIgjen er jeg litt usikker på navnet, men titt på de subtile og forsiktige høstfargene?

Again I’m uncertain about names, but observet the subtle but nice colors creping out?
Pictures 2071bTrodde du at prestekrager var vårblomster? Tro en gang til! Dette bildet er tatt 8. oktober!
Did you think daisies were ‘spring flowers’? Think again! This picture was taken Oct. 8th!
Pictures 2072bJeg tar med et bilde av klubbhuset på Kjekstad golfklubb. Kjekstad golfbane er forøvrig en ekstremt vakker 18 hulls bane anlagt i et nydelig natur- og skogsområde.

I include a picture from the club house of Kjekstad Golf Club. The Kjekstad Golfing range is, by the way, a beautiful golfing range established in a near by forrest and nature area.
Pictures 2091bPictures 2095bJeg avslutter denne lille oppdateringen på min helse så vel som en odyssè i høstens farger med et par små bilder fra høstens løvverk.
Vil du se mer fra mitt kamera, vennligst  aktiver INDEX

I’m concluding this little upgrade on my health situation as well as an odyssè in the colors of the fall. Do you wish to see more from my camera, I suggest you activate my INDEX
(Compliments of SRB)

About Seenorway

'See Norway' vil i fremtid befatte seg med å vise bildereportasjer fra byer, kommuner og tettsteder rundt i Norge. 'See Norway' will take pride in showing you picture reports from communities and settlements throughout Norway. Contact: post@roby.no
This entry was posted in BUSKERUD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Colors of Fall

  1. You have taken some excellent photos in the Fall, I love all the golden colours and love the trees and leaves.. And the Chrysanthemum in the tub is a beauty🙂 Much love to you and yours

  2. melanie says:

    simply stunning… takk for sharing these wonderful pix! I’ve always loved fall – in general and October, in particular…

    Glad I’ve come across your awesome blog… I’ve been to Norge twice, from Oslo to North Cape, Lofoten islands, too – and I’m in love with your amazing country!🙂 My very best, good luck in all your endeavours and sunny greetings from Toulouse, France! Cheers, Mélanie

    • Seenorway says:

      Thank you for your kind comments, Melanie, and if you really want to say ‘thanks’, please do what you can to make the rest of France discover my blog🙂
      I’m only to be found on WP and probably miss out on a lot of FB-traffic?!
      There will definitely be more photoreports coming, but not as often as before. We prefere to take most of our pictures from April – October.
      By the way, there is a way to subscribe to this blog. That way you’ll receive an e-mail alert every time something new is published.

  3. sabnic says:

    photos lumineuses ( I love autumn !!!!)

  4. renxkyoko says:

    The photos are so beautiful. Fall is my favorite season, and, get well soon.

  5. Patrizia M. says:

    Un’immersione nei colori dell’autunno veramente stupenda, bellissime foto!!
    Tanti auguri per la tua salute. Ciao, Pat

  6. vestlending says:

    Veldig flott men samtidig vemodig!

    • Seenorway says:

      Det er jo det🙂 men så kan man kanskje finne frem bamsefellen, toddien og gå i hi for vinteren? Samtidig er det jo tid for litt markedsføring samt verving av fotografer som vil ta i et tak.

  7. Seenorway says:

    Hi David,
    Thanks for that information! That really supports my notion that this angina of mine is a direct result of medication! It seems to retract, but extremely slow! Much slower than when it came about🙂
    I’m seeing ‘some light in the tunnel’ (as they say) and I just got the last results on my blood test.
    PCA is now 0,3 and they are hoping to see it down to 0,2, but taking into consideration that it was once 22 (when diagnosis was made), I think I’ve gone a long way! And I’ll win this battle!

  8. So autumn is with you in colour at last…..I am beginning to wonder if here in the U.K. we will have a colourful display, the summer and even now we lack water it has been so dry. Many trees still have leaves but many are just dry but still green. The first real winds will see them fall. May be I am wrong and the colours will come but we will have to wait and see.

    Good luck with the medication. I have angina that was not brought on by narrowing of the arteries through diet, etc. but as a direct result of taking a prescribed medication for another problem. My Doctors answer was…that medicine is not an exact science and some of it must be trial and error. Not reassuring but does highlight the need to constantly question and to monitor closely what effects drugs are having upon your body. Good luck and best wishes

Leave a Reply

