Lucky me!

I går fikk jeg plutselig en telefon: Det brenner! Og jeg grep kameraet og løp . . .

Yesterday I got a telephone call: ‘There is a fire’! And I grabbed my camera and ran . . .

Picture 899
Picture 937Det viste seg å være en storbrann, men ikke et hvilken som helst sted: I denne bygningen drev jeg min forretning – uforsikret – i 5 år!  Jeg disponerte faktisk alle lokalene direkte under brannen, men heldigvis er det nå over 12 år siden!

It turned out to be a big fire, but not in any place at all. In this very building I was operating my business – uninsured – for 5 years. The premises directly underneath the fire used to be mine! Fortunately that’s more than 12 years ago.

About Seenorway

'See Norway' vil i fremtid befatte seg med å vise bildereportasjer fra byer, kommuner og tettsteder rundt i Norge. 'See Norway' will take pride in showing you picture reports from communities and settlements throughout Norway. Contact: post@roby.no
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Lucky me!

  1. vestlending says:

    Huh, full action i nabolaget ditt Svein?

    • Seenorway says:

      Det var det! Hva jeg skjønner mindre av er at veien gjennom sentrum fortsatt er stengt. Riktignok ble det mye vann og en vei som minner om en skøytebane, men siden det er hovedgjennomfartsåren i bygda så må det vel være muliog å salte/strø slik at den blir farbar igjen?

  2. Srdjana says:

    En väldig tur att ingen blev skadad.

  3. allesistgut says:

    Hope you have a fire insurance now!😉

    • Seenorway says:

      Yes, of course, her at home we have always had an insurance. The problem with my enterprise was that it started out as an extra job. Then I left my other job and built my own full time enterprise which went from a turnover at 100 000/year to 5.5 millions without me waking up to the insurance problem. Fortunately it never became a problem!

  4. Aian Ramos says:

    You are definitely lucky! I’m glad to know that things didn’t get as bad as it looks (pretty intense fire, scary). Hope the guy or people who jumped will recover really soon.

    • Seenorway says:

      Hi, Aian,
      Yes, I imagine it was rather hot for those directly involved at the time. Today the roof has been burned all up and there’s gonna be pretty exposed to the weather through the Christmas hollidays. But then again I guess there has been plenty of water left by the fire brigade . . .

  5. Seenorway says:

    Yes, and it consumed much of the roof in less than an hour!
    Then there is the damage from water . . .

  6. danimora22 says:

    Wow!
    Well, I’m glad that, as you said, that was a long time ago, that you weren’t in the offices at that time or anyone else, I suppose.

    It’s funny when you say: I grabbed my camera and run! It’s like we all have something in our house that in case of a “disaster” we would grab and run. I’ve thought about it: what would I grab in case of a fire in my house? My notebooks. That’s the first thing that comes into my mind. And if I have time (hehehe we always want more time :)) I would grab this and that and that too…😉

    Though the fire was impressive and you took nice pics, I’m glad it wasn’t a tragedy to anyone after all. Take care!

    Sincerely,
    Daniela

    • Seenorway says:

      Well, I didn’t gr4ab the camera top save it🙂 but to secure pictures of the fire. I have no furter interest in the building as such ’cause I’m no loger working there and have no belongings there, but , of course, the world was all together differenty to those that actually lived in the building today. The appartments are mainly on the top floor, but as far as I know, my old offices have been converted into an appartment. And unfortunately it seemed that the fire escape didn’t work very well. Somebody had to jump from the third floor to escape the flames. Amazingly they were not killed but they had to be taken to hospital with ‘minor damages’ – whatever that is.
      But I’m sure this CHristmas won’t be what they had in mind.

      • danimora22 says:

        Oh, what a shame. Well, at least it was not that bad.

        I know you didn’t grab the picture to save it, but it made think on what would be precious to me in a ‘run and safe’ situation or, in your case, grab your tool and do your work, because it won’t last until you are ready. You have to do it now.

        More or less..🙂

        xoxo,
        D.

        • Seenorway says:

          The computer, perhaps?
          When you think of it, it contains all banking papers, 80 000 pictures, letters, friends, receipts, adresses . . . Most people today has those data on an iPhone, but I’m oldish😀
          and it may be lifted from me during the day. My computer stands at home an weighs 15 lbs, not so easy tu run away with, so that’s where I keep my soul🙂

  7. kalabalu says:

    Fire is very dangerous.

Leave a Reply

